A New Month, A New Theme

NaBloPoMo_LESSONS

I kind of fizzled out halfway through August on my NaBloPoMo effort. No particular reason why, I just quit writing. I could make excuses – work was a bear, I was tired, I was busy, the cat scratched my eye, I was lazy (all of which are true), but I won’t.  Because most of those things (with the exception of the cat scratching my eye) were true when I was posting everyday. So, I just didn’t post. No excuses.

I’m going to try again for September…the key word is try. Maybe I’ll make it further than August, maybe I won’t. Who knows. Only time will tell.

Now on to September’s NaBloPoMo:

The theme this month is Lessons, and today’s prompt is: It’s back-to-school time: do you love the start of school or dread it?

It’s kind of a mixed bag for me. Personally, I don’t have kids, so the start of school doesn’t have an effect on me that way. However, I work at a school, so the start of school means the start of my job (I’m on basically the same schedule as the students – I get summers off, although I start back a few weeks before the students do).  I do like the start of school, during  registration and that first day back with students. Seeing how students have changed over the summer, seeing who’s back and who’s not. Now that we’re in our 5th week (we started July 30), the start of school is a distant memory and I’m looking forward to the start of break.

Beth VanHoose

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school CTE administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy thrifting, reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A New Month, A New Theme

  1. timkeen40 says:

    I can see this post was way back in September. I would interested to see how the year has gone for you. Please let us all know.

    Thanks,
    Tim

Leave a comment