Experts wanted

IMG_0965.JPG

I’m taking part in August’s NaBloPoMo. The purpose is to write a post every day, one related to the topic. This month’s theme is KNOW. Today’s writing prompt is: Everyone is an expert in something. Tell us three things you are an expert in.

That’s hard. I know a little about a lot of things, and a lot about several things. I don’t know that I’d consider myself an expert on anything. That being said, I can name at least three things that I either know quite a bit about, or can do quite well, if I do say so myself.

1) Sarcasm – I am one of the most sarcastic people you’d ever care to meet. It’s an art. Sometimes my sarcasm gets me into trouble. No, really, it does. Hard to believe, I know, especially for those who know me, but it’s true.

2) Grammar – My family and friends call me a Grammar Nazi. It’s a title I wear with pride. I loathe poor (or no) punctuation, improper tenses, misspelled words, people who interchange it’s and it’s; your and you’re; they’re, their, and there. I can’t count the number of times I’ve wanted to correct a friend’s Facebook status or tweet. To me, improper grammar is like nails on a chalkboard – highly irritating and completely unnecessary.

3) Making Chex Mix – Family and friends love my Chex Mix. I get requests for my Chex Mix. I learned to make Chex Mix from my mom. I refuse to use the microwave. The oven is the only way to go. The recipe on the cereal box is only a guideline. I use more, sometimes a lot more, of everything. And my Chex Mix is damn good, if I do say so myself.

What things are you damn good at?

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Nablopomo, Writing Prompts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Experts wanted

  1. Jolineys says:

    How did sarcasm get you into trouble? If you’d like to write about it, I’d love to find out 🙂

    Regarding #2, I have the same issue. I have been trying to let go of the habit of correcting my friends’ speech or writing, and I seem to be doing really well, but sometimes I just can’t help it… Especially when meeting someone for the first time! Did you ever scare anybody off with your comments? I am pretty sure I have!

  2. Pingback: New to the neighbourhood – First-week NaBloPoMo roundup | Keeping Track

  3. do you make puppy chow too? I love that stuff … I used to be terrified of Grammar Nazi’s … then I became the editor of a newspaper and was quickly converted. Go Grammar Nazi’s! High Five!

  4. Nice! One and two I can identify with. I had to google Chex mix – had no clue of what it was – I live in India! 🙂

Leave a Reply

