Feeding the Gremlins, or Things I Think About When I Can’t Sleep

We’ve all had nights where we either can’t fall asleep, or can’t stay asleep. Last night was one of those nights for me. I wasn’t feeling well, had a migraine and some sinus issues. I was really tired, and figured I’d fall asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow. I was wrong. I thought about taking a Benadryl to help me sleep, but it was too late to take a pill, for fear I wouldn’t get up on time for work. So I laid there.

And, while lying in bed, my thoughts wandered. Boy, did they. My predominant thought was, how much past midnight were you not supposed to feed a Mogwai? You remember the Mogwai, right? Gizmo, that cute little furry creature from the 1980s movie “Gremlins”? The one who turned into an ugly, scaly, toothy creature if you fed it after midnight? Well, I spent the better part of my ceiling-staring time wondering at what point after midnight was it safe to feed a Mogwai so it didn’t turn into a gremlin. Were you not supposed to feed them from midnight to, say, 8am? Or was 4am ok? Or maybe 12:30am? Or did you have to wait until after noon to safely feed them?

Now, I haven’t seen “Gremlins” since the 1980s, and I think I only saw it once or twice at that time. So why I even had this thought is perplexing. My question may be answered in the movie; I honestly don’t remember. I guess maybe it’s time to watch it again.

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school CTE administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Nablopomo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

