What I’ve done for my summer vacation

My summer vacation is almost over. I go back to work on July 22, in just over a week. I’m so not looking forward to it. I hate the job. Love the environment, but not the job. I’m receptionist at the high school…hands down the most boring and unskilled job I’ve ever had.

I’ve been looking for something else…in fact that’s what I’ve spent the majority of my time off doing…but so far no bites. I’ve even put in for transfers so I can stay in my current environment but with a different job, and no responses. Everyone I work with knows I don’t like my job. I keep getting false promises, and others there praise my skill set, but nothing changes. I figure that I’ll hang on for a few weeks and see what happens once school has started again. I need to set myself a deadline, so I’m looking at Labor Day as the end of the road. Back that up two weeks, since I’m required to give two week’s notice. So, it nothing happens by mid-August, that’s it. We’ll have been back 4-5 weeks by that time. That’s adequate, don’t you think?

Other than looking for a job, the rest of my time has been spent at the dentist office, the library, or the movies. I’ve had 4 dentist appts. in the last couple of weeks. I had a pain, which turned out to be an infected tooth. After a week of penecillin, I got it pulled. Then I had to go back two more times for root scaling. Finished that yesterday. A bit sore, but not bad.

I’ve also been doing some writing. Not nearly enough, but some. We’ve also seen a few movies this summer. Saw Iron Man 3 and Star Trek 2 when they came out. We also saw Man of Steel, even though neither one of us is a big Superman fan. We saw The Internship with Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson. Cute, but not great. Last week we saw The Heat with Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy. Very funny! I laughed through the whole thing. We are debating about The Lone Ranger. I’m a big Johnny Depp fan, so I want to see it just for the Depp factor. We may wait until the DVD though. We are anxiously awaiting Red 2 next week.

That’s about it for this installment.

Boring, I know.

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school CTE administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I’ve done for my summer vacation

  1. Pingback: Midsummer Postcard From The Beach Motel | WORK IN PROGRESS

Leave a Reply

