What I’ve done (so far) on my Spring Break

I work for the school district, and since it’s Spring Break for the students, I get to have Spring Break too. Having the week off is good, and bad. It’s good because it’s a week off from probably the most boring job I have ever had. It’s bad because I don’t get paid for the week. It’s good because I’m able to get some things done that I just am not motivated to do when I get home from work. It’s bad because I don’t get paid for the week.

So far this week I’ve worked on taxes (bad–we owe); updated my blog and writing site (very good since it was very outdated); crocheted and beaded (good, since I’ve got a craft show in May); and hunted for jobs and writing assignments (bad, I haven’t been able to find anything of any substance).

I’m currently at the library. We don’t have internet at home for the time being, so we’re either using our smartphones, or I head to the library when I can so I can use the wi-fi.

Speaking of the library, I’m trying to get a job here. I had an interview here last week for a Library Assistant position. Now it’s just a matter of wait and see. I think the interview went well. I really, really want this job. I love the library and intended to make it my life’s work some 30 years ago when I graduated from college. It just didn’t work out that way at the time. I did manage to get a library job at the community college here, and worked there for a couple of years. However, that job was part-time, and it was never going to be full-time. I really needed full-time with benefits, so I left. I took a job as receptionist at the high school (although that’s not the job I was initially offered – long story), and I really regret my decision. It is probably the worst job I have ever had. So, I’m waiting now to see what becomes of my interview.

I need to log off for now. I’ve got a migraine, so I should probably head home and take care of it.

Until later,

Beth

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school CTE administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Freelance writing, miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

