Sweet Memories

Many of my memories of my youth and of family members revolve around candy. One of my favorite memories, though, is of candy treats at my grandfather’s bar.

My grandfather owned a bar in the 1940’s, 50’s, 60’s and 70’s. Not one of the fancy bars like today where you can get designer drinks like Appletini’s and Mojito’s, but a bar in the Bottoms near the railroad tracks – a bar that served straight whiskey and rum, and beer, and catered to the working man. A BAR bar.

We lived several hundred miles away at the time, but whenever we visited our grandparents, we’d stop in to see Grandpa at his bar. A few times, my parents would go to the horse races or some other “adult” place, and leave me and my brother at the bar with my  grandfathe. (Try doing that today!)

When we visited, we always got two things – an ice cold 6 ounce Coke in a glass bottle from the big red Coke cooler behing the bar, and a candy bar from the candy case next to the cash register.

My all-time favorite choice of candy bar was Valomilk Cups, made by the Sifer company. If you’re not familiar with Valomilk Cups, they were like Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, only with marshmallow cream instead of peanut butter. Heaven. I would sit on the bar with my 6 ounce Coke and gooey marshmallow all over my face and hands, and I was happy as a clam.

You can still find Valomilk Cups occasionally, but generally at places like Cracker Barrel Country Stores and the like. Every once in a while I will buy one, and every time, I’m 5 years old again, sitting on my grandpa’s bar.

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school CTE administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Nablopomo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

