Kill Me Now

I have never been so bored in my frickin’ life; nor have I ever disliked a job so much after only a week and a half. I started this job on July 23. Here it is, August 1 – only 8 days into the job, and I’m really not liking it. It’s not challenging – I do the exact same thing over and over – not really repetition, because little things are different. But – it’s just answer phones and do mail. Make a few announcements now and then. That’s it – whoop-dee- do. Nothing wrong with this type of job if that’s your thing, but it’s not mine.

I didn’t exactly as for this job. I was actually offered, & had accepted, a different job. I got the call on a Friday afternoon, late, that I had gotten the job. I called the person back, accepting the position. I was instructed to call HR the following Monday to make arrangements to sign the paperwork. I called HR on Monday, and had to leave a message. I didn’t get a return call. I also called the person who had offered the job, never got a call back. I repeated the calls several times, still with no response. Finally, on Thursday, I got a call back from someone else who had been on the interview committee. He told me that the position I had been offered was no longer available, but that I could accept another open position. Unfortunately, the only other open office position was receptionist (again, no offense to receptionists, but it’s not what I wanted, and not really my thing). I was upset; screw that – I was PISSED. I had ONE day to decide whether or not I wanted to take that position. I took it, but now I wish I hadn’t.

The position I was initially offered was Library Tech. Perfect for me since I was working at the college library. As I said, I wound up with the receptionist position. I really didn’t think I’d hate it as much as I do. In fact, I hate it (although hate is a strong word) so much that I’m almost crying while writing this. Which woud be embarrassing, since I’m in public.

The reason I didn’t get the library job is because the person in that job, who was going to take the receptionist position, decided not to take the receptionist job at the last minute. And by the time anyone had the decency to let me know, none of the other office jobs that were mentioned during my interview were available.

When someone finally called me back, I was really pissed. I really debated whether I wanted to take the receptionist job. I wanted away from the college so badly, and the positives outweighed the negatives, at least then (full-time with benefits was the biggest positive), so I took the job. Not to keep repeating myself, but I’m starting (hell, I’ve already started) to wish I hadn’t.

I’ll do the job to the best of my ability, and I’ll be damn good at it; but that doesn’t mean I’ll have to like it.

The bitch, I mean the girl, who screwed me over for the library position is,well, a bitch. I do not like her, never will. That’s life – too bad, so sad.

The principal’s administrative assistant ( I work at a school), who is my direct supervisor, is really nice. She knows that I really didn’t want the receptionist job. She told me last week that one of the special education secretary positions is coming open (the current secretary is leaving August 10), and that I can put in for a transfer once it’s posted. I check the postings several times a day to see if it’s been listed. I’m putting in for a transfer as soon as I can. Of course, that doesn’t mean I’ll get it, but God, I want it.

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

