Why does my computer hate me?

I was so frustrated last night.  I didn’t get to bed until after 1am, and it’s all because of my computer. It hates me.

I had written several blog posts and all was good. Then, I decided to fill out an application for a writing gig with Interact Media. The application required a original sample article, which I normally don’t do, but I know of others who write for this company, so I figured it was ok.

So, I have the 500 word article written, I go to save it before copying and pasting into the application form, and the computer freezes. Locks up tighter than a seized motor. The cursor won’t move, keystrokes don’t help. I even waited for what seemed like hours, but was only about 15 minutes, to see if by some miracle the computer would unfreeze. Nope.  I was so mad I slammed the laptop shut and shoved it across the floor. That didn’t help either.

The only thing I could do was pull the plug. Figuratively at least. I had to do a hard crash and restart. I had my fingers crossed that maybe, just maybe, my document got saved before the big freeze. No such luck. My computer hates me.

After spending a half hour alternately crying, cursing the computer, and asking God why he was making it so hard for me to try and make some money, I took a deep breath, put on my big girl panties, and started again. I’d thought about  just giving up and going to bed, but knowing the way my mind works, all I would have done is lie in bed and think about the article. So, I rewrote it. It was easier the second time, since I still had all the information in my head. I don’t know that it’s particularly well-written though since I was still pretty frustrated and, let’s face it, pissed.

I guess I’ll find out in time. I should know soon whether or not I got accepted.

 

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school CTE administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Freelance writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

