NYC Midnight Flash Fiction Micro Challenge

Ok, so I planned to post this earlier while there was still time to vote, but the day got away from me.

Vote for what? you say. Well, I’ll tell you. Early last week I registered for the NYC Midnight Flash Fiction Micro Challenge. Registered writers would be divided into groups and assigned a word. Writers then had 12 hours to write a 100 character story in any form (prose, poetry, etc.) using the exact word. 100 characters, including spaces and punctuation. That’s even shorter than a tweet! The contest began last Thursday, August 11, at 9:00am PDT (noon EDT). I was in group #4 and my word was “tour”. I had until 9:00pm my time to write my story. Writers could submit up to three 100-character stories.

I was at work at 9am on Thursday, so other than check out my word and throw some ideas around in my head, I didn’t have a chance to really sit down and write until I got home around 4. Then, we were having dinner with my father-in-law, so it was after 7 when I actually got down to the nitty-gritty.

I wrote, and re-wrote, whittling down my ideas to 100 characters. 9pm was rapidly approaching.  At 10 til 9, I submitted my story. What the heck I thought, I can submit up to 3 stories…let’s try another one. So, I wrote a second story. I submitted both, although I really wasn’t happy with either.

After I submitted the stories, I forgot about them, figuring that neither one was going to go any farther. Judges were to pick the Top 25 out of each group, and post them online for people to vote on today. I figured if we were one of the 25 stories, we’d get an email stating as such.

I got the email today saying that the Top 25 stories from each group were ready for voting. Just out of curiosity (since I didn’t think either of my stories had made it), I checked out the top 25 for my group. As I’m scrolling down the list, I.SEE.MY.STORY!  OMG!

I posted on facebook, I tweeted, I emailed my friends and family. Now, it’s really not a big deal in the whole scheme of my writing life, but hey, it’s still exciting. Ok, so I’m kinda pumped. Sue me. 

Anyhoo, the top 3 vote-getters out of each group, plus two selected by the judges, advance to the next round, where they are given another word (along with the winners from the other groups), and again have 12 hours to write 1 (or 3) 100 character story using the new word. Then those stories get voted on. The top vote-getter and the top selection from the judges each win $100. I really don’t anticipate going any further in this competion, but anything can happen. After all, I didn’t expect to get this far.

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school CTE administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Freelance writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

