No more diet Coke before bed

I’ve been having strange dreams again. Last night was one of the weirdest I’ve had in a long time. I dreamed that my next door neighbor bought one of those vintage, one-story motels, the type that was popular in the ‘50s and 60s. We live on Route 66 in Arizona, so there is an abundance of those types of motels still around – some still in operation as motels, others used as apartments, and still others that are defunct.

I’m not sure which of the above categories the old motel was in when my neighbor bought it. He turned it into a swap meet/flea market. That wasn’t the weird part though. The weird part was that my neighbor and his wife, their two dogs, my husband and myself , our two cats and one dog, and my father-in-law all lived at this motel….in the same room. Yep, 5 adults and 5 animals, in one 50s era motel room. Talk about cozy. In addition to the motel room, my husband and I bought a small 3-room travel trailer – kitchen, dining area and bedroom….the only thing was, you couldn’t go from room to room on the inside – if you wanted to go from the kitchen to the dining area, you had to go outside and into the next door. And, there was no bathroom. Guess we must have used the miniscule bathroom in the communal motel room.

I told my husband about this dream, and he agreed that the living arrangements were weird. He did say, though, that the rest of it (swap meet) sounded like something our neighbor would do. Maybe I had some sort of weird premonition.

I’m not sure if it was the diet Coke I had before bed, or my hot flashes, or what. All I know is I’d rather not have any more dreams like this.

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school CTE administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

