Content mills

Most of my writing lately has either been for my own blogs or for content mills. My last private job was short-term and ended months ago.

One of the content mills I write for, Suite 101, is rev share based on page views. I like it because I can write on anything I want, and there`s the potential for residuals, but often the return on investment is very low. They`ve also relaxed their standards a bit in that there is no longer a minimum number of articles you have to write in order to remain on their writing team. You can also now write 1st person articles.

The other mills I write for, Demand Media and Internet Brands, pay upfront per article, but they have a list of titles you have to choose from. You can suggest your own titles to DM but they have to fit their guidelines and be approved first. The main problem with DM is their title choices. Sure, they have thousands of titles to choose from, but it`s usually best to choose something you know. At an average of $15 an article, it isn`t worth it to spend a lot of time first searching through the title list to find a title you think you could write on, then researching the topic and writing a 400-500 word article in their format that may or may not get approved the first time.

Also with DM, IB and other upfront payers like these, you`ve got a deadline in which to write the article. For these two, it`s 5 days for IB and 7 days for DM.

Because I work outside the home, often times it`s not worth the time and effort to write an article for a content mill when the pay works out to less than hourly minimum wage. I would need to write at least 10 articles a week for DM, articles which required little to no research, and even more for IB (at a rate of $10 per article).

Private clients are the way to go. More on that in the next post.

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Freelance writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

