Quote for Tuesday

“People are as happy as they choose to be” …Henry Ford

I know an awful lot of people who choose to not be happy. . .in their current situation, in their job, in their relationship, and so on. I`m not talking about the temporary unhappiness like when the store doesn`t have those cute boots in your size, or the concert for your favorite band sold out before you got to the front of the line.

I`m talking about people who are wholly unhappy for the long haul and don`t do anything to change their situation. You know the ones I`m talking about. They`re the ones who whine about and hope someone else solves their problem so they don`t have to do it themselves.

Sure, everyone`s entitled to a moment of self-pity now and then. God knows I have them. But I don`t let them consume me. If I did, I wouldn`t be here right now.

With all that I`ve been through in life (which is much more than most of you know, and a story for another time if you`re interested) I could definitely have just given up many times. Instead I draw upon strengths I sometimes forget I have — God, family, friends — but mostly internal strengths and inspirations.

If you`re unhappy with something in your life, genuinely and truly unhappy, then do something to change it. If you don`t want to change it, then you are happy with being unhappy, so don`t whine about the situation, since it`s what you`ve chosen.

If you want to change your situation, take a deep breath, pull up your big girl panties and TRY. You may not succeed on your first attempt, or your second, or even your third, but don`t throw your hands up in dispair and say “I Quit”. There`s a saying that is so true, “Quitters never win, and winners never quit.” Make the choice – do you want to be a winner or a quitter? Happy or unhappy?

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school CTE administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Freelance writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

