Jury duty

[tweetmeme source=”azwritergal” only_single=false https://writinginsand.wordpress.com/2010/07/20/jury-duty/%5DThe judicial system-a system of hurry up and wait.

I was summoned to appear for jury duty today. I had to be at the Superior Court at 9am. The assembled potential jurors were finally taken to the courtroom at 10am. We were told the judge was running late. Hmmm, wonder what would have happened if we were late? Anyway, at 10:25 we were still waiting.

The seats are hard – wooden theater-type seats. The chairs in the jury box don’t look any more comfortable. Will the judge and/or the attorneys ever show up?

It’s cold in here. I’m writing so that I can stay awake. Wonder if I can get excused? I just started my job a week ago, but I don’t know if that’s excusable or not.

It’s odd. I’ve lived here two years and have already been summoned. I was eligible for 30 of the 47 years I lived in Kansas City and still only got called twice – was excused the first time, the second never made it past the holding room.

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school CTE administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Freelance writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

