An Old Job, A New Job, and Writing

[tweetmeme source=”azwritergal” only_single=false https://writinginsand.wordpress.com/2010/07/11/an-old-job-a-new-job-and-writing/%5DIt’s been a while since I’ve written anything here. For that, I apologize. Hopefully life is going to slow down a bit so that I can start writing here regularly again.

If you’ve followed my posts, you will know that I have been looking for a part time job to supplement my writing.  About two months ago, I had three interviews for one job with the local hospital here. I really thought I had the job, but I didn’t get it. However, about a week later, I got a call from someone else who had gotten my name from HR at the hospital. Long story short, this person needed a temporary administrative assistant to start immediately, didn’t have time to interview anyone, and since I came highly recommended, could I start Monday? (I got the call on a Friday). So, for the last 4 weeks, I have been working full-time temporary. In the midst of this temporary position, I got a call for an interview on a job that I applied for back in April. Another long story short, I interviewed, and then started hearing from my references that they were being checked. A good sign. I got the call on July 1 offering me the job. After some consideration, I accepted, and I start tomorrow.

I’m excited about the job for a number of reasons.

1)  We’ve lived here 23 months and this is the first job I’ve been offered (I don’t count the temp job I’ve been doing as I didn’t have to work to get the job)

2) It’s at the local community college library. My college minor was Library Science, and that’s what I really wanted to do, but after graduation I couldn’t get a job in a library, so I took what I could get – broadcasting – and spent 24 years in the business.

3) It’s part time, which will allow me to spend my afternoons writing. I hope.

By the way, I found out that the reason I didn’t get the job at the hospital is that they thought I wanted full-time, and that job was only part-time. I have no idea where they got that idea, since a) I knew the job was pt when I applied, and b) I mentioned in all THREE interviews with them that pt was ideal for me. But whatever. All things happen for a reason.

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school CTE administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Freelance writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

