Quote for Friday, June 4

[tweetmeme source=”azwritergal” only_single=false https://writinginsand.wordpress.com2010/06/04/quote-for-friday-june-4/%5D Today started out to be a great day. Then I got a phone call with yet another rejection for a job. This one is especially hard, because it’s a job I really wanted; I had three interviews for it (pre-screen, face-to-face interview and a call back); and I felt really good about it. When she called to tell me I didn’t get the job, I was in such a haze after she said they selected someone else, that I didn’t hear much after that.

I did some figuring today and realized that in the last 96 weeks since I’ve been looking for a b&m job to supplement my writing (because this ain’t paying the bills right now), I’ve applied for at least 54 different jobs (those are just the ones I can remember and that doesn’t include any writing or WAH jobs I’ve applied for – if it did, the number would be in the hundreds).  Anyway, of those 54, I’ve interviewed for 15. And, I’ve either never heard at all, or got rejection letters,  on all of them – except for the latest one I interviewed for – haven’t heard anything since the interview Wednesday, but they said it’d probably be Monday anyway.

I came across the quote I am using for today in my writing quotes book. But, I think it fits my current situation as well, and it’s something I need to remember.

You have to get lucky at some point, but you can only get lucky if you are still on the road; and for each of us that road, that journey is of a different length. The thing is to keep doing it and doing it, any way you can.

– Lawrence Kasdan

So, I guess I just need to keep on keepin’ on.

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Freelance writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quote for Friday, June 4

  1. If you didn’t get that one and it was good, that means there is one out there for you that is great!

Leave a Reply

