Writing on the weekends

[tweetmeme source=”azwritergal” only_single=false https://writinginsand.wordpress.com/2010/05/08/writing-on-the-weekends/%5DOne of the advantages to being a freelancer is getting to set my own hours. I like it because I can work my time off to coincide with my husbands. Since he has weekends off, I strive to have weekends off.

It doesn’t always work that way though. Sometimes I will have a client deadline that requires me to work weekends. Other times, something will have happened during the week that puts me behind. Computer problems, which have been happening a lot lately. Errands, doctors appointments, taking the dog to the vet. Being sick.

That’s how it was for me last week. I was sick, in fact still am, but I was totally out of commission for a full day, and half alert for another. So, that’s put me behind in getting my writing done for the week. Since I don’t have a client deadline this week, I could let it go. But I’ve set personal goals for myself, concerning how much writing I’m going to get done each week. Since I didn’t write for almost two days, I’m short of my goal.

Saturdays are days with my husband, and writing doesn’t get done on Saturdays, no matter what. Well, except for during the Blogathon, when I need to get a blog posted. Yes, I know I can write ahead and schedule the posts. Anyway, I don’t write on Saturdays. So, if I want to make my goal, or at least get closer to it, I’ll write tomorrow. I already told my husband I’d be writing. I’ll only spend a couple hours at it, and I doubt I’ll make the goal, but I’ll feel better about myself.

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school CTE administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Freelance writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writing on the weekends

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Writing on the weekends « Writing In The Sand -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

