Writing When Sick

[tweetmeme source=”azwritergal” only_single=false https://writinginsand.wordpress.com/2010/05/07/writing-when-sick/%5D
Do you write when you aren’t feeling well? For me, it depends. If I can focus on what I am doing and my writing doesn’t suffer, then yes, I write. If I can’t focus or concentrate, I know that I won’t be happy with anything I write, so I don’t even try.

I’ve been fighting a terrible cold and sore throat. Yesterday was one of those days where I couldn’t focus, so I didn’t write. And of course, now I am behind. Today my head is stuffed up and my throat is dry. I wrote, but between sneezing, sniffling, coughing and taking in liquids, I didn’t get a lot done. Still, it’s something, so I’m not quite as far behind as I was. I’m just glad that I don’t have any clients with looming deadlines that would have required me to work yesterday. Even so, I’m probably going to have to spend one day this weekend writing, which I usually try to avoid, leaving weekends for family time.

Since I work for myself, when I take a sick day, I’m missing out on income; quite unlike when I worked outside the home and had 10 paid sick days a year. Even then, I was reluctant to take sick days and often times was at work even when I knew I shouldn’t be.

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school CTE administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Freelance writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

