Am I Crazy? The 2010 WordCount Blogathon, and other stuff

[tweetmeme source=”azwritergal” only_single=false http://wp.me/pBpjV-30%5D Day One of the WordCount Blogathon

Today is the first day of the WordCount Blogathon. Am I crazy for attempting this? Time will tell. The concept is simple – a blog post a day. Should be easy, right? Well, maybe. I don’t know how many times I’ve said – to myself, my husband, even on my blogs – that I’m going to do better with blogging. This blogathon will hopefully give me the push I need to stay motivated with my blogging.

Today’s Other Stuff

Today would have been my mom’s 85th birthday if she was still alive. She passed away on September 24, 2007. She had Alzheimer’s, and spent the last few months of her life in a care center. Prior to that, she was cared for at home by my father. It finally got to a point where he could no longer care for her and put her in the center. I know it killed him to do it, too. My brother and I, and various friends of my parents, tried to get him to put mom in a care center long before he did, because we saw the toll it was taking on him. He wouldn’t do it though. In a way, I can’t blame him – after all, they got married at 18 and had been together for 64 years. My brother and I visited and helped when we could, but my parents were in Colorado, while at the time, my brother and I were in Missouri. Anyway, I miss her greatly, and think about her every day. There were times when we didn’t have the greatest mother-daughter relationship, but she was still my mother. One of my biggest sadnesses is that she didn’t get to meet my husband, the love of my life. I think they would have gotten along great.

Today would have also been my 17th anniversary, had I stayed married to my ex. We’ve been divorced since 2006, and I got remarried in 2008 to the most wonderful man in the world.

So, today was a little bittersweet for me, but it wasn’t as difficult as I thought. I had a wonderful day with my husband – we hit a few rummage sales this morning, ran some errands, had a nice brunch, and then spent a couple of hours wandering around the Route 66 Fun Run.

Now we’re home, and I’ve been working on blog posts. Usually I don’t write on the weekends unless I’m meeting a deadline. I prefer to devote the time to my husband. However, because of the Blogathon, I’m cheating a bit.

That’s it for today, I’ll see you tomorrow.

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Freelance writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Am I Crazy? The 2010 WordCount Blogathon, and other stuff

  1. Susan says:

    Beth,

    Interesting to see that I’m not the only Blogathon participant to ask “Am I crazy?” I think you’ll make it through the month. Good luck!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Am I Crazy? The 2010 WordCount Blogathon, and other stuff « Writing In The Sand -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

