Today’s goals 4/14/10

Birds at Seaport Village

Man have I been lax in posting. I haven’t been motivated to do much of anything lately and I’m not really sure why. I need to get out of this slump. I’ve been a lot frustrated and a little depressed at the state of the job market here (and other places I’m sure, but I only have first hand knowledge of what’s happening here).

It’s depressing that only idiots seem to get the jobs that are available. Employers don’t seem to care about education or experience any more. The ones that do care about education don’t care about experience. Evidently it’s more important to some employers that prospective employees have a piece of paper that says they can do such and such, rather than any experience actually doing said such and such.

It’s the same with writing. As long as the “writer” is cheap, there are those out there who don’t care if the “writer” can actually write. Or spell. Because they are willing to work for cheap,  they get hired; while many of us who can actually write and spell are passed over.

I have signed up with Break Studios and AOL’s Seed. I’m also writing for Demand Studios and Suite 101. I’d like to get a couple of private clients so that I don’t have to rely on ‘content generators’ for income.

Goals for 4/14:

  • Daily job search, for both writing and B&M jobs
  • Apply to at least one job in each category
  • Go to the library
  • Get tax check in the mail
  • Write at least one article for each site mentioned above.
  • Take a walk.

Will I get everything done before I pick hubby up from work? I hope so.  If not, I think it will be the walk, unfortunately, that suffers.

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school CTE administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Freelance writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Today’s goals 4/14/10

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Today’s goals 4/14/10 « Writing In The Sand -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

