The Leprechaun

I write poetry off and on. I don’t often share, but this is just a silly little poem I wrote in the shower the other day. Since tomorrow is St. Patrick’s Day, I thought it might bring you a smile.

One day as I was walking
To get some fresh, clean air
I saw a sight so different
All I could do was stare

A rainbow was before me
And too a pot of gold
It shimmered and it glittered
Just like I’d been told

Then I saw a tiny leprechaun
Which in itself is rare
He would have run for cover
If he had seen me there

I couldn’t help but smile
As I gazed upon the sight
And then I noticed something
Just didn’t seem quite right

The little Irish elf
Danced along without a care
But as he spun himself around
I saw the leprechaun was bare!

When finally he noticed me
As I tried not to giggle
He tipped his hat, said “good day”
And gave his shilleglagh a wiggle

I’ve told this tale to others
But no one will believe
I saw a naked leprechaun
On St. Patrick’s Eve

Beth VanHoose
March 16, 2010

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Freelance writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

