Do they teach spelling in schools any more?

Ok, so I know that anyone can post on Craigslist, and that there’s no intellectual criteria for posting. However, if you are going to post something, especially a plea like this one on my local CL today, try to use correct grammar and spelling. I’ve indicated the misspelled and misused words in red. The punctuation errors, the grammatical errors, and lack of capitalization are just too numerous to have marked each one.

Today we lost (deleted) he passed away at 16 .he went to (deleted) high school and will be loved and missed by all .he lived with his sinlge mother so any donations will help contact me and i will give you the adress .So just remember dont take anyone for granit and tell your kids you love them every day because no one knows the future .everyone worries about loseing parents and grandparents but .nothing can be worse then looseing your child .so (deleted) family are hearts go out to you and to (deleted) mother stay strong because you were his strenghth

I don’t know if CL has a spell-check or not on its posting form. If so, use it. At the very least, write your ad in MS Word or another word processing program and use spell-check there, and then cut and paste to CL.

While I applaud the poster’s intent, the number of errors in the post had me shaking my head and distracted (me at least) from the intent of the post. If the poster is  an adult, shame on you. Worse, if the poster is a fellow high school student of the one who passed away, shame on the educational system.

I see so many job postings that have an outrageous number of errors, either misspellings or grammatical. I even received a rejection letter not long ago, signed by a department secretary, that was five lines long ~ but only one sentence ~ one horrible run-on sentence.

We’re being overrun, and run, by people with only half a brain, so it’s no wonder people with a brain can’t find a job these days. We’d make the half-brainers look bad.

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Freelance writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

