It’s no wonder I can’t find a job

So today, I did a little calculation. I went to the Arizona Job Service page, as I do occasionally, looking for a part-time job (or any job frankly, but I want pt). Anyway, there are 400 jobs available in my county. Sounds like a lot, huh? Just wait.

Of those 400 jobs, 110 of them are in other parts of the county (it’s a big county), and therefore, are automatically rejected. Of the 290 remaining, 170 of those are in the  medical field. I have no medical background, so those are out. Of the 120 now left, 43 are retail/restaurant requiring previous experience in retail/restaurant (the only retail/restaurant experience I have is working fast food in high school back in the 70’s – those dark ages before most of the retail./restaurant managers today were even born); 38 are either labor (I can’t repeatedly lift/carry 75 lbs or more) or technical; 23 require advanced education/training (attorney, financial, police, security); and 7 are for teachers.

If you’re following along, that leaves 9 jobs. 9 jobs that I am overqualified for. 9 jobs that I am competing with hundreds of others for.

This doesn’t even count the jobs that get listed in the worthless fish wrap they call a newspaper around here. Every once in a while, when I’m at the library, I’ll take a look. Sunday’s paper, which I saw yesterday, there were maybe 15 jobs listed that weren’t listed on the job site. Again, the majority were medical. A couple truck driving. One sounded ok. It was for a part time receptionist/kennel assistant at one of the animal hospitals here. The only requirements they had listed were customer service and must like animals. Hey, I qualified! I debated whether or not to apply since I’d applied at the same place for another position about 6 months ago and never heard anything. Since it was late in the day when I saw the ad, I decided to go today.

I went, filled out the application and handed it to the girl at the desk. She told me, AFTER I  filled out the app, that they’d stopped taking apps for this job because they had over 120 people apply. After 120, they were holding apps for the next time they had an opening. So, I asked, since I’d applied 6 months ago, would that app be considered for this job? No, of course not. I took my (new) app and tore it up. What’s the point?

If they got 120 apps for a PT phone answering/shit scooping job, what’s the competition like on other jobs?

var addthis_pub=”maxthecat61″;
About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Freelance writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

