Health marvels

My brother called me on Monday to let me know that my dad was in the hospital. He was having shortness of breath and his heart rate was very low. Jeff, my brother, found out dad was in the hospital by accident. You have to know my dad. He doesn’t like to bother anyone with his problems. Jeff said when he called the hospital to check on dad’s condition, and he also talked to dad, Dad’s words were “you weren’t supposed to know”.  Knowing my dad, he probably would have sent us an email with an “oh by the way, I was in the hospital and things are fine” message.

Ugh. Dad lives in Colorado, my brother lives in Missouri, and I live in Arizona. My dad lives at a condo complex, and the folks there keep a pretty good eye out. What happened was my dad went to lunch in a nearby town with a friend of his. He had trouble breathing, so he went to the emergency clinic the next town over. The clinic sent him to Denver by ambulance. (He lives about 2 1/2 hrs west of Denver). So, my dad calls  the condo office, and asks them to get his car from the clinic. In turn,  the condo office calls my brother, who calls the hospital and then calls me.

Initially, Jeff didn’t have much information except for the shortness of breath and low heart rate. I called the hospital to see what I could glean, and the nurse basically told  me the same things, except that his heart rate was hovering between 30-40 when it should have been around 70, and that they were waiting for the cardiologist. The nurse thought there was probably blockage and that my dad might need a pacemaker.

Turns out that was the case. Talked to another nurse and my dad the next day, and dad was to have surgery that afternoon for a pacemaker. This was Tuesday.  I talked to him Tuesday after the surgery. He’d had a local anesthetic, so he was awake during the procedure. He was in recovery, waiting for his dinner (pot roast, mashed potatoes, and angel food cake ~ I never had food like that when I was in the hospital!)

I talked to him on Wednesday, and they had released him. My grandmother had to have a pacemaker, and she was in the hospital at least a week. He doesn’t even have stitches. He couldn’t remember what they called them, but he has a circle of little black dots around the incision, but no stitches. The nurse said they’d be gone in a week.

He goes back in a couple of weeks, and he can’t use his left arm for a while, but he sounds good and says he feels fine, with no pain.

Amazing what they can do today.

var addthis_pub=”maxthecat61″;
About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

