Working from home

I’m a writer.  I work from home. The keyword here is “work”, not “home”. Yet, so many people (the ones who don’t work from home) focus on the word “home”. These people seem to think that those of us who work from home have all the time in the world to deal with them. They call, they drop by. They don’t respect the fact that we are WORKING. We’re not just hanging out, watching TV and eating bonbons.

There are a lot of people who work from home, either by choice or necessity. For me, it’s a combination of both. I have been a freelance writer for years. I wrote from home part time for many years, while having a full-time brick and mortar job as well. When my husband and I moved over a year ago, I tried to find a full time job outside the home with no luck. Because money is a necessity, I’ve had to turn my part time endeavors into full-time. I’m not making full-time pay, but I’m trying.

It doesn’t help when friends and family feel they can call or drop by anytime because I’m “at home”. If I was working outside the home, would they just call or drop by anytime they felt like it? I doubt it.

Yes, I have more freedom with my time than I would if I was working for someone else. I set my own hours. But, I know what I have to get done, and I set my hours accordingly. I can work in my home office, or in the family room,  or on the back porch. Once a week or so, I work from the library or internet cafe, just to be around people, but it’s not social hour.

I try to get fully dressed, albeit casual ~ jeans or shorts and tshirt ~ everyday as it helps me create the work environment. There are some days, like today, when I don’t feel well, and I just throw on sweat pants after I shower.

When I am working, I don’t answer my phone. Not the house phone, not the cell phone. The only calls I answer are from my husband, and he only calls at lunch time since he works. I would probably answer if the caller was the police or the hospital because that would most likely be an emergency. Otherwise, if I get a call, I don’t answer. The caller can leave a message. Same with text messages. I don’t answer them while I’m working unless it’s an emergency. But, people believe that since I’m at home, I should answer their calls or messages immediately. Then, they get pissed if I don’t.

Yes, I take breaks. Yes, I check my email.Yes, I sometimes get on Facebook, or Twitter. It’s my time, and I can do these things if I want. But, just because I’m home doesn’t mean I’m at your beck and call. Unless, of course, you want to pay me for my time.

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school CTE administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Freelance writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

