Job Outlook 9/14/09

I’ll be posting details of my job search, both WAH and b&m (bricks and mortar) jobs.

Here’s the job outlook as of today:

b&m update:

On Aug. 28, I had an interview with the Community Libraries here.  Basically it was for the bookmobile.  Thought interview went ok, was told I would hear back by Sept 4 if I was selected to go to the next step, which was a driving test.  No call.

On Sept. 9 – had interview with the school district for administrative assistant position.  Actually, it was a test, not an interview.  Testing for computer skills in Excel and Powerpoint.  Had an hour for the test.  What they wanted, there was no way anyone, except maybe Superman, could have finished in an hour. Was told I would hear by Fri 9/11 if selected for interview.  Again, no call.

So far this week I have applied for a book manager position at Hastings and did the online general ap for CVS.  Also have the general aps in at WalMart, Home Depot, and Petco.

Inquired about a job on the Job Service site, but by the time they got back with me, the job had already been filled.

I also have contracted with a staffing service, and she told me it’d be no problem placing me, but that was at least six weeks ago, and she hasn’t been able to help.

The hubby and I are going to go to the job service tomorrow and try and get some referrals.

WAH:

I can’t remember all the places I’ve applied for.  I’ve been writing for one blog, since July, but they haven’t paid.  They claim that it’s because they’ve lost some sponsors, which is probably true.  However, they figured they’d have money to pay their bloggers last month.  It’s been two months now with no pay, so I’ve quit writing for them until they pay.

I write for Suite 101, Demand Studios and Examiner – but these “jobs” aren’t paying the bills.

I applied for several jobs today that I found on Deb Ng’s Freelance Writing Jobs site.

I’ve got two paying clients right now, but their assignments are sporadic, so I really can’t count on either one to pay the bills.

I really need a job right now.  Hubby does too.  We are really starting to hurt, financially, and may have to move again if something doesn’t happen soon.

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school CTE administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Freelance writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

