RIP Farrah and Michael

Well, it’s been a rough day as far as celebrity deaths are concerned. Two icons of my generation are no longer with us.

First, there was the news this morning that Farrah Fawcett had passed away.

Her death was not totally unexpected, since she’d been sick for several years with anal cancer. I wasn’t a huge Charlie’s Angels fan, but I did have the Farrah Fawcett hair.

Then, just this afternoon, the report of Michael Jackson’s death.

That one was a surprise.

I’d been working at the computer all day, and first saw vague mentions on Facebook that Jackson had been taken to the hospital. After numerous conflicting reports on both the web and the television news sources, it was finally confirmed. And it’s still hard to swallow.

I mean, I was never a huge Jackson 5 or MJ fan. But, the Jackson 5 was big, along with The Osmonds and David Cassidy, when I was a youngster and a pre-teen in the late 60’s/early 70’s. ABC, Rockin’ Robin, and I’ll Be There, were all as well-played in my house as Puppy Love, One Bad Apple, and I Think I Love You. And, in the 80’s, I remember going to the Jackson Victory Tour concert at Arrowhead Stadium in Kansas City. I think I still have the ticket stub somewhere.

MJ was a weird, weird man; there’s no denying that. But, he was also a talented man. And a very famous man. The news reports were saying that perhaps he is, or was, the most famous person in the world. Was he a child molester? I think, if he was, that he truly believed he did nothing wrong. I think he was just a man who never grew up; who was misguided, and misunderstood. He did a lot of things in his life that were, well, odd. Marrying Lisa Marie Presley. Dangling his son over a balcony. The whole appearance change. Bubbles the chimp. The Moonwalk. I think his creation of Neverland Ranch said it all. He really was a ‘Lost Boy’. Hopefully, he’s not lost any longer.

My thoughts and prayers are with both the Fawcett family and friends; and the Jackson family and friends.

Photos from Superiorpics.com

var addthis_pub=”maxthecat61″;

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

