Roses are Red

Remember that poem Roses are red, Violets are blue, Sugar is sweet, And so are you! I’m not sure why, but that was running through my head the other day. It could be because I was looking at our wedding pictures and there were pictures of my bouquet.

That was the last time I received a dozen roses. Of course, it wasn’t all that long ago, just a short six and a half months. The flowers in my bouquet were red roses mixed with baby’s breath. Roses come in many other colors besides red. With Valentine’s Day approaching, you don’t need to hesitate in sending someone roses. There is nothing that says the roses you send have to be red. The different colors can be used to express feelings and relay messages.

Here are some of the more common colors of roses and their meanings.

Red – the perfect Valentine’s or wedding day rose, meaning love.
White – also a good wedding day flower, often called the bridal rose. White symbolizes purity.
Yellow – symbolizes friendship, or caring
Pink – the color of femininity and elegance
Orange – this vibrant color symbolizes desire
Purple or Lilac – this color rose is often used to express love at first sight, and is therefore another perfect Valentine’s flower.

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school CTE administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

