Seeing Eye Yorkie?

Ok, I saw something yesterday that I’ve never seen before in all my 40+ years on this planet.

I was at one of the local thrift stores looking for some bargains. There was this older woman in there as well, looking at some shoes next to the rack of skirts I was browsing. I noticed that she was holding a leash. Odd, I thought, since dogs weren’t allowed in the store, except for service animals.

So, I glanced down to the end of the leash, and there was a small Yorkie, wearing little service animal saddlebags. This was one of the little miniature Yorkies too, not one of the full size (still small) ones. I did a double take, because I had never seen a Yorkie as a service dog before. I wondered what this dog could do for this woman ~ who, while not large, was bigger than me ~ probably 5’8″ or 5’9″ and she had a good few pounds on me.

I wasn’t the only one curious about this. Just about the time I was going to comment on the dog (my mom had a mini yorkie and it looked a lot like this one), another lady in the store asked her what the dog did for her.

Evidently, the woman is partially blind, she has no peripheral vision, and the Yorkie is her ‘alarm’ for when she gets too close to something or when someone comes up on her. Sure enough, she was checking out the shelves of shoes, moving sideways down the row, and she got to the end, at the wall. The little dog started yipping and yipping as she got close and she stopped before hitting the wall. I’ve never seen anything like it.

My mom’s Yorkie was our attack dog. We also had an English Bulldog, a cock-a-poo, and a part lab/part wolf at the same time, and the Yorkie was definitely the most vicious of the lot. So, in a weird way, a Seeing Eye Yorkie makes sense.

var addthis_pub=”maxthecat61″;

About Beth

I'm a part-time freelance writer, full-time high school administrative assistant, mother, wife and dreamer. In my free time I enjoy reading, crafts, watching movies and spending time with my best friend and love of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

