Who screens customer service/telemarketers?

by Beth VanHoose

Don’t you think that one of the qualifications for a telemarketer/customer service phone rep should be that they can speak? Not speak English, just speak in general. I have gotten so many of these calls lately where you can’t understand the person calling.

Here’s an example…I received this message last week from a customer service phone rep.

Dis message is for Berf V (last name, which was the only word this person pronounced correctly, amazingly).  Berf, dis is Wergle wif Moosey Butt. Pliz call meh at 1234567890. (If I could type all 10 digits on top of one another, I would. This person said the number so fast, there was no way I could tell what it was)

Really? They seriously expect me  to call back after that message? I had to listen to it several times before I even got that much information out of it. The dude sounded like a) he had a mouth full of marbles, or else he was eating lunch, and b) he must have been trying to win some company contest on who could leave the most information in the shortest amount of time.

Who screens these people? I’ve heard ESL people speak clearer than some of these phone reps.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 603 other followers

